skip to Main Content

A Little History

From its humble beginnings of instruction in only eight grade levels in the fall of 1969, David Emanuel Academy has grown to encompass pre-k through twelfth grades. Through these halls, traditions abound and a strong academic curriculum has set the pace for decades.

During the 1960’s, local parents pushed to refurbish two brick school buildings that had served in years past as Stillmore School. One of such buildings was an impressive two story Greek revival structure that housed an upstairs auditorium and remained in use until it was destroyed by fire on August 14, 2010.

In its first year of operation the school was directed by local business owner and parent, Mrs. Virginia Snell, and originally consisted of only grades first through eighth. Within the next year, under the supervision of Mr. David Beecher, the school’s enrollment increased to encompass twelve grades. It was during his tenure that the school expanded its faculty and extracurricular offerings to help guide DEA into becoming the school it is today.

David Emanuel Academy currently draws students from 7 surrounding counties and has consistently produced both athletic and literary graduates who succeed in continuing an advanced education. It continues to be a cornerstone of success by nurturing a family atmosphere, providing strong academic curriculum, encouraging athletic involvement, and spiritually connecting them all together.

SAIS Accreditation

Accreditation

David Emanuel Academy is accredited by the Southern Association of Independent Schools (SAIS) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS).

Faculty & Trustees

Head of School 
Haylee Free
hfree@deaeagles.com

Guidance Counselor
Andy Sutton
asutton@deaeagles.com

Director of Development
Agatha McRae
amcrae@deaeagles.com

Director of Development
Allison Martin
amartin@deaeagles.com

Athletic Director
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Administrative Assistant
Courtney Rowland
crowland@deaeagles.com

Director of Academics and Students
Mandy Moore
mmoore@deaeagles.com

K3
Tamara Williamson
twilliamson@deaeagles.com

K3 Aide
Missy Mills
mmills@deaeagles.com

K4
Amy Walden
awalden@deaeagles.com

K4 Aide
Malia Ely
mely@deaeagles.com

K5
Lindsey Howell
lhowell@deaeagles.com

K5 Aide
Kristi Hood
khood@deaeagles.com

First Grade
Dana Durden
ddurden@deaeagles.com

Second Grade
Stephanie McCullough
smccullough@deaeagles.com

Third Grade
Dianne Lawson
dlawson@deaeagles.com

Fourth Grade
Brandi Mills
bmills@deaeagles.com

Middle School Math
Hannah Claxton
hclaxton@deaeagles.com

Middle School History
Laura Webb
lwebb@deaeagles.com

Middle School English
Laura Moore
lmoore@deaeagles.com

Middle School English
Carla Kidd
ckidd@deaeagles.com

Middle School Science
Sara Youmans
syoumans@deaeagles.com

History
Maranda Usry
musry@deaeagles.com

English / Literature
Mabel Williamson
mwilliamson@deaeagles.com

Science
Daniel Flowers
dflowers@deaeagles.com

Mathematics
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Mathematics
Donna Campbell
dcampbell@deaeagles.com

Art / Spanish
Janet Collum
jcollum@deaeagles.com

Yearbook
Missy Mills
mmills@deaeagles.com

Performing Arts / Literary / STEAM / Music / Bible / Computers
Ashlei Boatright
aboatright@deaeagles.com

Health / Physical Education
Kristi Flowers
kflowers@deaeagles.com

Baseball
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Basketball
Daniel Flowers
dflowers@deaeagles.com

Varisty Cheerleading
Malia Ely
mely@deaeagles.com

Stephanie McCullough
smccullough@deaeagles.com

Middle School Cheerleading
Allison Martin
amartin@deaeagles.com

Cross Country
Maranda Usry
musry@deaeagles.com

Football
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Varsity Softball
Laura Webb
lwebb@deaeagles.com

Middle School Softball
Kristi Flowers
kflowers@deaeagles.com

Tennis
Kristi Flowers
kflowers@deaeagles.com

Track
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Girls Soccer
Stephanie McCullough
smccullough@deaeagles.com

Maintenance
James Gunter
jgunter@deaeagles.com

Cafeteria Manager
Amanda Tanner
atanner@deaeagles.com

Cafeteria Assistant
Whitney Averett
waverett@deaeagles.com

Custodial
Rhonda Glover
rglover@deaeagles.com

Cleaning Support
Rachel Hall
rhall@deaeagles.com

Russ Yeomans (Chairman)

Jim Beecher

Bonnie Gowen

Kevin Griner

Matt Daniel

Dean McNure

Desmal Purcell

Mark Hall

Mark Beecher

DEA is currently seeking candidates for the following positions:

  • Middle School English Teacher
  • Substitute Teacher

Positions are for the 2021-2022 school year. Resumes should be sent to hfree@deaeagles.com.

Back To Top