A Little History

From its humble beginnings of instruction in only eight grade levels in the fall of 1969, David Emanuel Academy has grown to encompass pre-k through twelfth grades. Through these halls, traditions abound and a strong academic curriculum has set the pace for decades.

During the 1960’s, an educational movement was taking place and the need for further instruction without the interference of government was at a peak. It was this push for reform that inspired local parents to refurbish two brick school buildings that had served in years past as Stillmore School. One of such buildings was an impressive two story Greek revival structure that housed an upstairs auditorium and remained in use until it was destroyed by fire on August 14, 2010.

In its first year of operation the school was directed by local business owner and parent, Mrs. Virginia Snell, and originally consisted of only grades first through eighth. Within the next year, under the supervision of Mr. David Beecher, the school’s enrollment increased to encompass twelve grades. It was during his tenure that the school expanded its faculty and extracurricular offerings to help guide DEA into becoming the school it is today.

David Emanuel Academy currently draws students from 7 surrounding counties and has consistently produced both athletic and literary graduates who succeed in continuing an advanced education. It continues to be a cornerstone of success by nurturing a family atmosphere, providing strong academic curriculum, encouraging athletic involvement, and spiritually connecting them all together.

SAIS Accreditation

Accreditation

David Emanuel Academy is accredited by the Southern Association of Independent Schools (SAIS) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS).

Faculty & Trustees

Head of School 
Haylee Free
hfree@deaeagles.com

Guidance Counselor
Andy Sutton
asutton@deaeagles.com

School Improvement Coordinator
Jill Powell
jjpowell@deaeagles.com

Athletic Director
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Administrative Assistant
Lindsey Howell
lhowell@deaeagles.com

K3
Tamara Williamson
twilliamson@deaeagles.com

K4
Amy Walden
awalden@deaeagles.com

K4 Aide
Malia Ely
mely@deaeagles.com

K5
Michelle Lamm
mlamm@deaeagles.com

K5 Aide
Kristi Hood
khood@deaeagles.com

First Grade
Dana Durden
ddurden@deaeagles.com

Second Grade
Stephanie McCullough
smccullough@deaeagles.com

Third Grade
Hannah Claxton
hclaxton@deaeagles.com

Fourth Grade
Meagan Williams
mwilliams@deaeagles.com

Middle School Math
Cheryl Canady
ccanady@deaeagles.com

Middle School Social Studies
Laura Webb
lwebb@deaeagles.com

Middle School English
Laura Moore
lmoore@deaeagles.com

Middle School Science
Sara Youmans
syoumans@deaeagles.com

History
Scott Riner
sriner@deaeagles.com

English / Literature
Mabel Williamson
mwilliamson@deaeagles.com

Mathematics / Physics
Donna VanSickle
dvansickle@deaeagles.com

Mathematics
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Science
Aaron Goodman
agoodman@deaeagles.com

Technology / Computers / Spanish
Mandy Moore
mmoore@deaeagles.com

Elementary Music / Chapel
Scott Riner
sriner@deaeagles.com

Yearbook
Mandy Moore
mmoore@deaeagles.com

Performing Arts / High School Music
Mabel Williamson
mwilliamson@deaeagles.com

Health / Physical Education
Kristi Flowers
kflowers@deaeagles.com

Baseball
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Basketball
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Cheerleading
Malia Ely
mely@deaeagles.com

Cross Country
Michelle Lamm
mlamm@deaeagles.com

Football
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Softball
Allen Jordan
ajordan@deaeagles.com

Tennis
Kristi Flowers
kflowers@deaeagles.com

Track
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Maintenance
Richard Newsome
rnewsome@deaeagles.com

Cafeteria Manager
Amy Whitaker
awhitaker@deaeagles.com

Cafeteria Assistant
Amanda Tanner
atanner@deaeagles.com

Custodial
Rhonda Glover
rglover@deaeagles.com

Kevin Griner (Chairman)

Jim Beecher

Bonnie Gowen

Erin Youmans

Russ Yeomans

Matt Daniel