A Little History

From its humble beginnings of instruction in only eight grade levels in the fall of 1969, David Emanuel Academy has grown to encompass pre-k through twelfth grades. Through these halls, traditions abound and a strong academic curriculum has set the pace for decades.

During the 1960’s, an educational movement was taking place and the need for further instruction without the interference of government was at a peak. It was this push for reform that inspired local parents to refurbish two brick school buildings that had served in years past as Stillmore School. One of such buildings was an impressive two story Greek revival structure that housed an upstairs auditorium and remained in use until it was destroyed by fire on August 14, 2010.

In its first year of operation the school was directed by local business owner and parent, Mrs. Virginia Snell, and originally consisted of only grades first through eighth. Within the next year, under the supervision of Mr. David Beecher, the school’s enrollment increased to encompass twelve grades. It was during his tenure that the school expanded its faculty and extracurricular offerings to help guide DEA into becoming the school it is today.

David Emanuel Academy currently draws students from 7 surrounding counties and has consistently produced both athletic and literary graduates who succeed in continuing an advanced education. It continues to be a cornerstone of success by nurturing a family atmosphere, providing strong academic curriculum, encouraging athletic involvement, and spiritually connecting them all together.

SAIS Accreditation

Accreditation

David Emanuel Academy is accredited by the Southern Association of Independent Schools (SAIS) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS).

Faculty & Trustees

Interim Head of School
Andy Sutton
asutton@deaeagles.com

Administrative Assistant
Kim Coleman
kcoleman@deaeagles.com

Dean of Students
Paul Nease
pnease@deaeagles.com

Guidance Counselor
Andy Sutton
asutton@deaeagles.com

Director of Development 
Haylee Free
hfree@deaeagles.com

Athletic Director
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

K3
Lindsey Howell
lhowell@deaeagles.com

K4
Amy Walden
awalden@deaeagles.com

K4 Aide
Malia Ely
mely@deaeagles.com

K5
Michelle Lamm
mlamm@deaeagles.com

K5 Aide
Kristi Hood
khood@deaeagles.com

First Grade
Dana Durden
ddurden@deaeagles.com

Second Grade
Cindy Murry
cmurry@deaeagles.com

Third Grade
Kate Page
kpage@deaeagles.com

Fourth Grade
Cheryl Canady
ccanady@deaeagles.com

Fifth Grade
Laura Moore
lmoore@deaeagles.com

Sixth Grade
Sara Youmans
syoumans@deaeagles.com

English/History
Toby Hickson
thickson@deaeagles.com

English
Sally Grover
sgrover@deaeagles.com

Mathematics/History
Terri Simmons
tsimmons@deaeagles.com

Mathematics
Eveyln Hall
ehall@deaeagles.com

Mathematics
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Science
Karen Collins
kcollins@deaeagles.com

Science
Sherry Sturgis
ssturgis@deaeagles.com

 History
Paul Nease
pnease@deaeagles.com

Art
Rachel Nease
rnease@deaeagles.com

Bible Studies
Brenda Beasley
bbeasley@deaeagles.com

Technology/Computers/Spanish
Taneshia Jenkins
tjenkins@deaeagles.com

Performing Arts
Sally Grover
sgrover@deaeagles.com

Health/Physical Education
Kristi Flowers
kflowers@deaeagles.com

Yearbook
Toby Hickson
thickson@deaeagles.com

Baseball
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Basketball (Girls & Boys – Varsity)
Oliver Hubbard
ohubbard@deaeagles.com

Cheerleading (Middle School)
Haylee Free
hfree@deaeagles.com

Cheerleading (Varsity)
Malia Ely
mely@deaeagles.com

Cross Country
Michelle Lamm
mlamm@deaeagles.com

Football
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Golf
TBA

Soccer (Girls)
Paul Nease
pnease@deaeagles.com

Softball
Allen Jordan
ajordan@deaeagles.com

Tennis
Kristi Flowers
kflowers@deaeagles.com

Track
Clint Inman
cinman@deaeagles.com

Director of Operations
Richard Newsome
rnewsome@deaeagles.com

Cafeteria Manager
Amanda Underwood
aunderwood@deaeagles.com

Head Custodian
Rhonda Glover
rglover@deaeagles.com

Kevin Griner (Chairman)

Jim Beecher

Brandi Davis

Bonnie Gowen

Allison Hood

Regan Slater

Michael Wells

Russ Yeomans

Stephen Taylor